Matthew Riddett's all-expenses-paid thrilling tell-all extravaganza junior software developer learning log blog

I mean, is Gatsby really great?

January 23, 2020

So today worked on using image optimization with Gatsby.js and holy moly, what a PITA. I mean, I figured out how to add pictures to blog posts! So that’s a win I guess…

But really, that is so basic. I have to admit, today I often found myself thinking “is Gatsby really all that great?”

The real struggle, which I have yet to overcome, is figuring out how to implement a featured image for each blog post and have that image show up in the list on the main blog index page. You’d think this would be pretty basic stuff, and I’m sure it actually is super easy. But it has defeated me today. So many false starts and fist banging on table moments.

That said, I’m sure it’s something simple I’m missing, and I bet I’ll be able to get it figure out tomorrow. Decent enough progress was made today. Getting a better handle on GraphQL, which really is quite powerful.

Ultimately, I want to write a new version of my portfolio site with Gatsby using react components etc, and then re-write the whole https://mylevelup.app site in Gatsby as well, because I can see how it will be a fantastic tool for developing the companion web app/portal I’ve been wanting to build for so long.

Let’s see, what else…

Gonna migrate my Gitlab projects over to GitHub later. I had them on Gitlab because Gitlab allows you to have private repos in excess of 100mb. But now that the repos are going to be public by default, they might as well be in Github. Besides, I’m not really using the CI/CD functionality of Gitlab at this time. Maybe in the future I will (probably actually), but for now it’s more important for people to be able to poke around in the public repo, clone it, contribute, etc. And really. Github is the most well known and used so might as well.

On that front, I have been making some really good progress increasing my Git skills. Yay!

I suppose that’s all for now.

TTFN!

-mr


Written by Matthew Riddett who lives and works in Victoria BC, building fun and useful things. You can follow him on Twitter