Matthew Riddett's all-expenses-paid thrilling tell-all extravaganza junior software developer learning log blog

This longest journey begins with... a whole bunch of other little journeys that got you there.

January 22, 2020

Hello World!

This time I feel like I’ve earned it. After all, I’ve been working on getting this blog up all day, and now it’s looking like everything is working properly.

So… the story up to here :

(truncated. will elaborate more later)

I started learning web development fundamentals in earnest about 1 month ago. Prior to that I had been coding in with C# in Unity, making a few game jam games in addition to my BIG PROJECT - the myLevelUP app. I won’t go into it here, but it was my first intro to programming and I have found that I really love it. Anyway, I started figuring out how to build an app with Unity in 2019, and got pretty far.

But, I also wanted to learn web development. I had built sites with WordPress and more recently with Squarespace, but I wanted to learn it from scratch, from the ground up, so-to-speak. So, I did what I have done when learning Unity and C#. I started watching a lot of tutorials online. We truly live in a golden age where you can pretty much learn anything online for free. Youtube university!

Anyway, in a fairly roundabout way I came to admire a number of developers personal portfolio pages, and discovered that they were built with something called Gatsby.js

After a bit of research, I decided to give it a try as a way to learn a modern static site generator, and especially as a way to learn React and GraphQL.

I’m really liking it so far, and I think this blog is going to be useful in my coding journey to becoming a professional software developer.

That’s the goal, btw. I love doing this stuff, and so my goal for 2020 is to go all in and start a new career as a software developer.

That’s all for now. I’m going to poke around the file directory before I sign off for the day. I’m going to try and post at the end of every day, just so I have a log of what I’ve learned, what I’ve been working with and what I’ve built.

Here’s a cool graffiti leopard for the featured image!!

Pace et bene

-mr


Written by Matthew Riddett who lives and works in Victoria BC, building fun and useful things. You can follow him on Twitter