Matthew Riddett's all-expenses-paid thrilling tell-all extravaganza junior software developer learning log blog

Back to Javascript Basics!

January 28, 2020

Today I started a new Javascript course. I’ve actually been using Javascript for a little while now and I know a decent amount of fundamental programming concepts and skills from working with C# in Unity, but I was finding that my knowledge had lots of annoying gaps. So, I went to Udemy and picked up this course which is great so far. I spent the day getting through the first half of the first section, basically reviewing the basics :-).

Then, I revisited some game design and coding patterns for Unity to prep for the upcoming Global Game Jam this weekend.

It was a good day. A real confidence booster because today pretty much everything I was working on I kind of already knew, so I was able to just fly through it all without any grief. However, I know the pain is coming once I start to get into the more advanced JS stuff.

Okey Dokey Smokey! More to follow tomorrow…

-mr


Written by Matthew Riddett who lives and works in Victoria BC, building fun and useful things. You can follow him on Twitter